Valdez, Reyes, Fajardo, Lazaro lead first cut for National Team

Valdez, Reyes, Fajardo, Lazaro lead first cut for National Team

Head coach Francis Vicente announced the first cut for the National Team earlier today after much fuss over the last few weeks.

2016 PSA Ms. Volleyball and three-time UAAP champion Mika Reyes was named the captain of the team after heavy deliberation.

Three-time Premier Volleyball League MVP Alyssa Valdez, three-time UAAP champion Kim Fajardo, 2016 Philippine Superliga All-Filipino Conference Most Valuable Player Dawn Macandili, 2016 PSL Invitational MVP Jovelyn Gonzaga, and 2016 PSL Grand Prix MVP Jaja Santiago headlined the first cut.

Rachel Daquis, Aby Maraño, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Rhea Dimaculangan, Denden Lazaro, Maika Ortiz, Geneveve Casugod, Ria Meneses, Ces Molina, Roselle Baliton, Kath Arado, and Lourdes Clemente round out the pool.

The team will be further trimmed right before they embark on the AVC Seniors tournament in early August.

Vicente emphasized that the goal of the team is to win a medal in the Southeast Asian Games.

“Hindi ko pa masabi kung anong kulay ng medalya pero ang goal pa rin namin is ‘yung pinakamataas. Malakas ‘yung team na ‘to,” he closed.

About these ads
  • knuclear200x

    This roster is continuing proof that the hypocritical LVPI governors are controlled by PSL club owners. The real reason behind the inclusion of (PVL’s) Alyssa “The Phenom” Valdez was because they feared the fierce wrath of the public !

    • Mang Gorio 041516

      Paano mo isasali ang mga PVL Players kung ayaw nilang pumunta sa try-outs? Si Alyssa lang naman ang magaling doon.