Rebisco backs PSL Manila for AVC AWCC

Rebisco backs PSL Manila for AVC AWCC

For the first time in Philippine Superliga history, the Grand Prix champions will not be representing the Philippines in the Asian Women’s Club Championship.

Instead, the league will send a selection of its finest players to the annual tiff, where all the best Asian club teams will face off from May 23-30 in Kazakhstan.

The Foton Tornadoes, who won the 2016 Grand Prix, opted to drop out due to lack of players.

The Rebisco PSL Manila will be coached by Philippine Team head coach Francis Vicente. Generika’s Bia General and Geneveve Casugod; Petron’s Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Mika Reyes, Rhea Dimaculangan and Ces Molina; F2 Logistics’ Aby Maraño and Kim Fajardo; Cignal’s Jovelyn Gonzaga and Rachel Daquis; Foton’s Maika Ortiz and Jaja Santiago; Cocolife’s Denden Lazaro; and Sta. Lucia’s Lourdes Clemente make up the squad. They are grouped with Japan’s Hisamitsu Spring, China’s Tianjin Bank, and Vietnam’s Vietinbank.

“This team is stronger and very competitive. The target of our team is to play at the highest level and this will be the first time na puro locals tayo it’s a very good exposure for team,” said PSL President Tats Suzara.

Coincidentally, all these players are also part of the 25-woman Philippine Team pool that is gearing up for August’s SEA Games and Asian Senior’s competition.

“Very competitive yung team. Alam nila yung laro, they have the skills and everything. Di namin tinaasan ang expections basta we will do our best. I want to see discipline and their competitiveness,” said Vicente.

About these ads