PFL all set as clubs get license

PFL all set as clubs get license

After a thorough evaluation of their proposals, the Philippine Football Federation is set to issue licenses to the eight participating club teams that have applied to join the inaugural season of the Philippines Football League.

“The success of the National League is very important for the growth of Philippine football,” PFF president Mariano Araneta said about the development.

“I thank all the stakeholders, including the upcoming sponsors, private club investors, stadium owners, players, and, especially, the fans in keeping faith with us to have this professional football league.”

The commercialization of the league and its financial model was completed with the assistance of Red Card Global — a Singapore-based international sports marketing agency. The firm will also be the exclusive commercial agent of the PFL for the next six years.

“We are proud to have played a part in assisting the PFF in this endeavor,” added Red Card Global executive chairman R. Sasikumar. “It is our hope that this model propels Philippine football to a new level.”

Negotiations between the PFF and the People’s Television Network Inc. are currently on-going. If it pushes through, PTV will be the national broadcasting partner of the league.

On the other hand, the eight teams have nominated their home field, with Ceres-Negros FC choosing the Panaad Park Football Stadium in Bacolod City, Negros Occidental; Global-Cebu FC (University of San Carlos Football Stadium in Cebu City); JPV Marikina FC (Marikina Sports Complex in Marikina); Kaya FC-Makati (University of Makati Football Stadium in Makati); Stallion-Laguna FC (Binan Football Stadium in Laguna), Ilocos United FC (President Elpidio Quirino Stadium in Ilocos Sur); and Davao Aguilas FC (Davao del Norte Sports & Tourism Stadium in Tagum City). The Loyola Meralco Sparks FC are nominating Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila as their homebase.

The league format itself will have a home-and-away, double round-robin style. The Finals series will see the top four teams competing.

Each club will need to sign a franchise agreement with the PFF to complete their entry to the league.

The PFL will formally launch on Thursday, April 20, while the kick-off is scheduled to take place on Saturday, April 29.

About these ads
  • Derrick

    It’s a league, not a tournament.