Magsayo retains WBO International crown in dominant fashion; Santisima thrills

Magsayo retains WBO International crown in dominant fashion; Santisima thrills

In his first main event fight, Pinoy Pride 41 headliner Mark “Magnifico” Magsayo (17-0) proved that he is worthy of the billing.

The 22-year old retained his WBO International Featherweight title with a first-round stoppage of Nicaragua’s Daniel Diaz (23-8-2) at the IEC Convention Center in downtown Cebu, Saturday Night.

Magsayo wasted no time dismantling Diaz, dropping him first with a combination of power shots but the Nicaraguan was able to get up before the eight count. Magnifico followed it up with a series of left hooks that almost sent the challenger to the canvas for his second knockdown.

Magsayo then put on the finishing touches on Diaz with a double left hook that forced referee Danrex Tapdasan to stop the fight at 1:45 mark of the first round.Pinoy Pride 40 - Master Suro vs Jeo Santisima

In the co-main event, Jeo Santisima (14-2) added another knockout win to his resume, handing then-undefeated Goodluck Mrema (16-1) his first loss of his career in the first round first round.

Santino connected a huge overhand that sent the Tanzanian face first to the canvas, thrilling the Cebuano crowd in attendance.

In a night full of stoppages, minimumweights Joey Canoy (13-3-1) and Melvin Jerusalem (11-2) put on a show in front of the packed Cebuano crowd. In the end, Canoy was able to outlast the one-time world title challenger with his tireless work rate and come out the victor via unanimous decision.

Also in the undercard, Albert Pagara (28-1) and KJ Cataraja (6-0) scored knockout wins over Aekkawee Kaewmanee (16-10) and Lony Cadayday (4-2-2) respectively.

Pinoy Pride 41: New Generation Warriors results
July 8, 2017 – IEC Convention Center, Cebu City, Cebu

WBO International Featherweight Championship: Mark Magsayo def. Daniel Diaz (KO, 1st)
Super Bantamweight bout: Jeo Santisima def. Goodluck Mrema (TKO, 1st)
Minimumweight bout: Joey Canoy def. Melvin Jerusalem (UD)
Featherweight bout: Albert Pagara def. Aekkawee Kaewmanee (KO, 4th)
Flyweight bout: KJ Cataraja def. Lony Cadayday (KO, 1st)
Flyweight bout: Junrel Jimenez def. Margarito Moya (KO, 3rd)
Flyweight bout: Esneth Domingo def. John Kenan Villaflor (UD)
Flyweight bout: Jino Macapobre def. Rolien Getalada (MD)

About these ads