All UAAP, NCAA teams to compete in 2017 Premier Cup

All UAAP, NCAA teams to compete in 2017 Premier Cup

In the 11th edition of the Filoil Flying V Premier Cup, every UAAP and NCAA team has been signed up to take part in the most prestigious pre-season tournament in Manila, the league said on Thursday afternoon at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan City.

Last season, both the University of Santo Tomas and Jose Rizal University declined to join the tournament.

Just like last season’s format, the 18 teams will be split into two groups, with the top four teams from each group advancing to the quarterfinals.

Defending champions De La Salle University Green Archers headline a stacked Group A. Joining them are UAAP runners-up Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles and NCAA champions San Beda College Red Lions. Rounding out the stacked group are the Colegio de San Juan de Letran Knights; the Jose Rizal University Heavy Bombers; the Lyceum of the Philippines University Pirates; the University of Perpetual Help System DALTA Altas; the University of the East Red Warriors; and the University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers.

In the other group, last year’s runners-up Arellano University Chiefs lead the line-up. They are joined by the Adamson University Soaring Falcons; the College of Saint Benilde Blazers; the Emilio Aguinaldo College Generals; the Far Eastern University Tamaraws; the Mapua Institute of Technology Cardinals; the National University Bulldogs; the San Sebastian College-Recoletos Golden Stags; and the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons.

The league is scheduled to open on Saturday, April 29. Tentative opening day games are La Salle versus UE (2:00pm), San Beda vs. Ateneo (4:00pm), and Flying V vs. Arellano (6:00pm).

The top four teams from each group will advance to the quarterfinals that are scheduled to take place on June 21.

Flying V’s D-League team will be listed as a guest team, with their games having no effect on the standings.

There will be plenty of underlying story lines in this year’s edition of the tournament, as FEU head coach Olsen Racela, NU’s Jamike Jarin, San Beda’s Boyet Fernandez, and Saint Benilde’s TY Tang are set to make their coaching debuts with their new squads. In addition, all the teams will parade their new recruits in the tournament, headlined by CJ Perez’s return to collegiate basketball.

All games will be held at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan City.

About these ads